Spread the love

Faith Nyasuguta

Somalia has officially become a full member of the East African Community (EAC) after completing the accession process by depositing its instrument of ratification of the treaty. 

In a ceremony held at the EAC headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania, Somalia’s Minister of Commerce and Industry, Jibril Abdirashid Haji Abdi, presented the instrument of ratification to the EAC Secretary-General, Peter Mathuki.

With this development, Somalia, boasting the longest coastline in Africa, exceeding 3,000km and connecting the continent to the Arab Peninsula, now stands as the eighth member of the EAC. The existing members include the Democratic Republic of Congo, South Sudan, Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, and Kenya.

Dr. Peter Mathuki, the head of the EAC Secretariat, expressed the significance of Somalia’s formal membership, stating that it enables the country to engage in EAC’s areas of cooperation, spanning trade, investment, industrial development, and the free movement of people, labor, and services. 

He emphasized that Somalia now has the opportunity to contribute to the development of a roadmap for integration into the EAC, covering the organization’s four pillars: the Customs Union, Common Market, Monetary Union, and Political Federation.

“Today’s occasion of Somalia depositing the instruments of ratification with the Secretary-General will enable Somalia to kick off the process of joining EAC’s areas of cooperation,” stated Dr. Mathuki.

The roadmap to integration will outline how Somalia plans to implement the EAC’s pillars, and Dr. Mathuki mentioned that in the coming weeks, Somalia will receive comprehensive information on the state of the EAC integration process.

Jibril Abdirashid Haji Abdi, the Minister of Commerce and Industry for Somalia, expressed the country’s eagerness to contribute to EAC integration, leveraging its strategic location and abundant national resources for the benefit of the entire region.

/Somalia acquires full EAC membership/

We recognize the importance of adding value to the Community, enhancing collaboration with our neighbors, and promoting regional economic and social development through increased trade, bilateral agreements, and joint programs and projects,” said Minister Abdi.

As part of the integration process, Somalia is expected to designate a ministry and appoint a minister to coordinate EAC matters, elect nine members of Parliament to the East African Legislative Assembly (Eala), and appoint a judge to sit in the First Instance Division of the East African Court of Justice (EACJ).


About Author

Faith Nyasuguta

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *